Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
The Department of Paediatrics and Child Health is a core department of Mbarara University of Science and Technology and the Mbarara Regional Referral Hospital since its inception in 1989. The Department aspires to be a recognized Centre of Excellence in Uganda and East Africa for specialized tertiary paediatric care, high quality training, and research in paediatric medicine and child health, providing high quality medical care to children, contributing to the training of highly competent healthcare providers capable of providing quality and locally appropriate medical services to patients and conducting relevant health research for the benefit of the community.
We conduct activities in four core areas: clinical care, education and training of medical students and graduate doctors, research in paediatric medicine and child health, and community service and support through collaborations with partners in local government, and both local and international non-governmental organizations.
Clinical services are mainly centred in a 70-bed general children’s ward, as well as specialized units for neonatal care, critical care, nutritional therapy and a range of outpatient clinics. The department is looking to develop sub-speciality services in paediatric cardiology, oncology, nephrology and neurology, as well as expand existing neonatal services to include neonatal intensive care over the next five years.
Our flagship training program, leading to the Master of Medicine in Paediatrics degree, offers candidates opportunities to train in a high-volume clinical service under experienced Faculty, both local and international. Collaboration with various partner institutions provides students with opportunities to access exposure to a range of clinical specialty services, and to be mentored in a chosen research area by world experts.
Department Staff
• Associate Professor Juliet Mwanga-Amumpaire
• Dr Elias Kumbakumba – Senior  Lecturer/HOD
• Dr Santorino Data – Lecturer
• Dr Peter Kalubi – Lecturer
• Dr Barnabas Atwiine – Lecturer
• Dr Dorah Nampijja – Assistant Lecturer/Fellow in Paediatric Cardiology